

William Michael Treanor
Dean and Executive Vice President

July 17, 2013

Senator Patrick Leahy Chairman, Senate Judiciary Committee United States Senate Washington, DC

Senator Charles Grassley Ranking Member, Senate Judiciary Committee United States Senate Washington, DC

Dear Senators Leahy and Grassley:

We are law school deans, writing in our individual capacities in enthusiastic support of Cornelia (Nina) Pillard, whom President Obama has nominated to serve on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit. Professor Pillard is an accomplished lawyer, scholar, and teacher, and has devoted her career to public service and to training others in the best traditions of the law. Her confirmation to the D.C. Circuit would continue a long tradition of law professors serving on that court, including Antonin Scalia, Robert Bork, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Harry T. Edwards and Douglas H. Ginsburg.

As a tenured professor of law at Georgetown, where she started her academic career in 1997, Pillard has taught hundreds of students in required academic subjects, including Constitutional Law and Civil Procedure. She is a beloved teacher and mentor, diligent in service to Georgetown and the larger community, and a productive and highly respected scholar. Professor Pillard also has extensive and wide-ranging experience in the practice of law. She has practiced at the trial level, in the courts of appeals and in the Supreme Court, handling both civil and criminal cases. She has served as a top-level executive branch lawyer in the Office of Legal Counsel. And, as an Executive Committee member of the Board of Directors of the American Arbitration Association, she has experience with the increasingly important law governing private dispute settlement. In her scholarly and professional work, Professor Pillard has shown herself to be fair-minded, sensible, a rigorous and sophisticated thinker, and a peerless advocate.

Professor Pillard's scholarship confirms her careful, respectful, and sensible approach to legal issues. She has questioned barriers to access to the courts, but at the same time recognized the need to deter unfounded litigation. She has critiqued doctrines that deny remedies to victims of government abuse without sound justification, and simultaneously questioned judicial constructs that leave individual government officials on the hook for reasonable legal mistakes in

the line of duty. In her legal advocacy and scholarship, Professor Pillard shows a clear understanding of fundamental distinctions between the roles of courts and the political branches, and between law and culture, morality, politics or other important sources of norms that guide and constrain human behavior. Throughout her work, she has shown an appreciation of nuance and respect for opposing viewpoints, grounded in a profound commitment to fair process and fidelity to the law.

In short, Professor Pillard is a talented advocate, a brilliant legal mind, a sensible and moderate problem solver, and a careful thinker who has devoted her career to public service and work for others. We wholeheartedly urge that you confirm her to the D.C. Circuit.

Sincerely,

Dean Richard Bales, Ohio Northern University Claude W. Pettit College of Law

Dean Craig Boise, Cleveland State University Cleveland-Marshal College of Law

Dean John Broderick, University of New Hampshire School of Law

Dean John Carroll, Samford University Cumberland School of Law

Dean William M. Carter, Jr., University of Pittsburgh School of Law

Dean Christopher Edley, UC Berkeley School of Law

Dean JoAnne Epps, Temple University Beasley School of Law

Dean William Furgeson, University of North Texas Dallas College of Law

Dean Ken Gormley, Duquesne University School of Law

Dean Donald Guter, South Texas College of Law

Dean Chris Guthrie, Vanderbilt Law School Dean Paul Mahoney, University of Virginia School of Law

> Dean William M. Treanor Georgetown University Law Center

Dean Gregory Mark, DePaul University College of Law

Dean Philip J. McConnaughay, Penn State University, The Dickinson School of Law

Dean Marc Miller, University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law

Dean Martha Minow, Harvard Law School

Dean Lawrence Mitchell, Case Western Reserve University School of Law

Dean Trevor Morrison, New York University School of Law

Dean Charles Nelson, Faulkner University
Thomas Goode Jones School of Law

Dean Peter Pitegoff, University of Maine School of Law

Dean Robert Post, Yale Law School

Dean Dan Rodriguez, Northwestern University School of Law

Dean Patricia White, University of Miami School of Law

Dean David Yellen, Loyola University Chicago School of Law

^{**}School names and titles are for identification purposes only and do not indicate support by the institution.